Gin Sukapaap Dee

About a Healthy Diet in Thailand

Organic – almost

Posted by billzant on May 23, 2011

I recently tried to be completely organic- apart from eating out once or twice a week. I have to say it failed and I have gone back to half and half. This move to organic was sparked by a new stall here – I think the lady who runs it is diabetic. This went well for a while – able to get cheap pak bung (morning glory) daily, together with other veg occasionally. Then the leaves stopped, and now I don’t visit her daily. There is still Aden, but she does not have enough variety.

I supplemented this with organic veg sent from Bangkok – http://www.npfood.com/, but this got too messy. I would order the food during the week, and after an interchange of emails the food would be delivered to the local bus station via minibus. I stopped this because a change of staff meant the time changed, and the bus drivers would just leave my box with the shoe shop – and not the bus company lady. Too risky. Natural and Premium did provide organic food, but it was not enough and not convenient enough. I did contact Rangsit organic farm, and they were helpful but there would have been the same problem with logistics and expense.

So it is still frustrating that I live in a  rural area, a major fruit region of Thailand, and I cannot get organic food. I should do it myself – no excuse really.

Leave a Reply

 
